Meet the Commissioners

The Government of British Columbia appoints one commissioner and up to two deputy commissioners, each for a term of six to eight years. The commissioners are independent. As mandated by the Coastal Ferry Act, they do not answer to the provincial government or to BC Ferries.

British Columbia Ferries Commissioner

Eva Hage


Eva is a senior transportation finance and business advisor with 30 years of experience. She has assisted major North American transportation agencies in evaluating and procuring capital infrastructure and in developing strategic plans and financial solutions that are cognizant of both client and stakeholder needs.

Eva has held senior positions with Partnerships BC, Steer Davies Gleave and BC’s Crown Corporation Secretariat. She has a Bachelor of Commerce degree from the University of Alberta and a Master of Business Administration from the University of Western Ontario.

Eva was a long-time member and co-chair of the Southern Gulf Island Ferry Advisory Committee. She lives on Saturna Island, BC.

British Columbia Ferries Deputy Commissioner

Piet Langstraat

Piet is a senior consultant in the areas of governance, strategic planning and financial management, with a focus on building exemplary leadership, achieving measurable goals and aligning budgets to meet priorities.

Piet was the lead of the Vancouver Island COVID Rapid Response Team, a member of the BC Education Funding Framework Review Panel, and a sector liaison for the Framework for Enhancing Student Learning. Previously, he served as Superintendent of Schools/CEO of the Greater Victoria School District and the Red Deer Public School District.

Piet holds a Master of Science in Educational Administration from the University of Oregon and a Bachelor of Education in Secondary English from the University of Calgary. He lives in Victoria, BC.

Scroll to Top